Updated Travel and Visa Advisory 18.03.2020
Home ›  Forthcoming Events Management  ›  Updated Travel and Visa Advisory 18.03.2020


AS ON 18 MARCH 2020, 1556 hrs (JST)

In addition to the Visa restrictions already in place, the following travel restriction shall also come into effect:

All passengers coming from European Union (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden), European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland), Turkey and United Kingdom have been prohibited from entering India from any of the Land/Air/Seaport ICPs. This restriction shall come into effect from 1200 hrs GMT on March 18, 2020 at the port of first departure, and shall remain till March 31, 2020 and is a temporary measure.


Travel of passengers from Afghanistan, Philippines, Malaysia to India is prohibited with immediate effect. No flight shall take off from these countries to India after 1500 hours Indian Standard Time (IST) on March 17, 2020. The airline shall enforce this at the port of initial departure. This instruction is a temporary measure and shall be in force till 31st March 2020 and will be reviewed subsequently.

2.     The earlier visa restrictions, as mentioned below, shall also remain in force: 

i.   All existing visas issued to nationals of any country except those issued to Diplomats, Official passport holders, those in UN / International organizations, those on Employment, Project visas and those who are operating aircrew of scheduled commercial airlines, and who had not yet entered India, stand suspended w.e.f. 1200 GMT on March 13, 2020, till April 15, 2020.

i.    Visas of all foreign nationals already in India remain valid. They may contact the nearest FRRO/FRO through the E-FRRO module for extension/ conversion etc. of their visa or grant of any consular service.

ii.    The validity of the OCI card of foreigners presently in India shall remain.

iii.    Visa-free travel facility granted to OCI cardholders who are not in India presently has been kept in abeyance till April 15, 2020.  This has come into effect from 1200 GMT on March 13, 2020, at the port of departure of any foreigner for onward journey to India.

iv.    Any foreign national (including OCI cardholder) who intends to travel to India for compelling reasons may contact the nearest Indian Mission for a fresh visa.  

v.    International traffic through land borders will be restricted to designated Immigration Checkposts that have been notified by MHA vide O.M. No.25022/12/2017-Imm dated March 14, 2020. 

Mandatory compliance of travel advisory issued by

Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India

i.    Passengers travelling from / having visited Italy or Republic of Korea and desirous of entering India will need a certificate of having tested negative from COVID-19 from the designated laboratories authorized by Health Authority of these countries.  This is enforcement since 0000 hrs. of March 10, 2020, and is a temporary measure till cases of COVID-19 subside.

ii.    All incoming travellers, including Indian nationals, arriving from or having visited China, Italy, Iran, Republic of Korea, France, Spain and Germany after Feb. 15, 2020, shall be quarantined for a minimum period of 14 days.  This will come into effect from 1200 GMT on March 13, 2020, at the port of departure.

iii.    All passengers coming from UAE, Qatar, Oman and Kuwait will be placed under compulsory quarantine for a minimum period of 14 days which shall come into effect from 1200 hrs GMT on March 18, 2020, at the port of the first departure. 

iv.    Incoming travellers including Indian nationals are advised to avoid non-essential travel and are informed that they can be quarantined for a minimum period of 14 days on their arrival in India.

v.    Indian nationals are further strongly advised to refrain from travel to China, Italy, Iran, Republic of Korea, Japan, France, Spain & Germany.

vi.    All incoming international passengers returning to India should self-monitor their health and follow required do’s and don’ts as detailed by the Government.

vii.    International traffic through land borders will be restricted to designated check posts with robust screening facilities.  These have been notified separately by the Ministry of Home Affairs.

viii.    All international passengers entering into India are required to furnish duly filled self-declaration form in duplicate (including personal particulars i.e. phone no. and address in India) to Health Officials and Immigration officials and undergo Universal Health Screening at the designated health counters at all Points of Entry.

ix.    For any queries related to health, people may contact the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare 24*7 helpline number (+91-11-23978046) or email at (ncov2019@gmail.com).

FAQs on new visa restrictions COVID-19

Helpline for COVID-19: (24X7) 011-24300666

Email id:     support.covid19-boi@gov.in


© Consulate General of India, Osaka-Kobe(Japan) 2023. All Rights Reserved.
Terms & Condition | Privacy Policy | Copy right policy | Accessibility Statement | Help |
Page last updated on: Jan 14, 2023
Visitors (Since Nov 2022): 5972937
Powered by: Ardhas Technology India Private Limited